Skip to main content

2023 Graduate Research Award in Microbiology (GRAM) Recipients

This year, the Interdepartmental Microbiology program reinstated the Graduate Research Award in Microbiology (GRAM). 

The purpose of the GRAM  is to encourage and recognize independent, creative thinking and planning toward important research that promises to generate significant new knowledge. A student may apply for the award by submitting an original research proposal. Proposed research that involves collaborative or cooperative efforts expected to provide unique experience and training for the student beyond what might be available in the student’s existing research program are especially encouraged.

The 2023 recipients of the GRAM are:

  1. Akhil Anilkumar Vinithakumari (Karin Allenspach-Jorn and Jonathan Mochel labs) 
  2. Marissa Roghair Stroud (Larry Halverson Lab) 
  3. Zachary Burton (Kaoru Ikuma Lab) 
  4. Dylan Schultz (Stephan Schmitz-Esser Lab) 

Congratulations to all recipients!!!